Meet Me: Rory Walsh

Need some inspiration to start your own business or pursue your passion as a career? This week we meet Rory Walsh, a designer/maker based in Sheffield, who did just that.

What do you do for work?

A question until recently I have struggled to define.
I’m a DESIGNER/MAKER!
Working predominantly with wood I design and make bespoke furniture and interior objects.

5_o

What did you want to be growing up?

A ninja turtle!

How did you get to where you are now?

Mostly by accident!

I did well in art and design at school and so whilst trying to avoid the real world I enrolled at Sheffield Hallam University doing Product Design.

This went petty well (2:1) but I still didn’t know what the job for me looked like and so whilst being picky/procrastinating about finding the perfect job I reluctantly ended up folding cloths at GAP  😦

Then a friend of a friend knew of a job as an apprentice carpenter, I jumped at the chance as I knew I enjoyed to make. Little did I know this involved three years of poor pay and a desire for perfection I couldn’t attain! I had in essence caught the wood bug! In my spare time I rented a workshop with a friend and graphic artist (paint ands saw dust a bad mix I know what your thinking) and in our spare time we would make anything that would come to our minds with an array of results.

After 2 short years and whilst still training I was made workshop manager and so had been well and truly thrown in the deep end. Many mistakes were made!

Seven years later I made the leap to go self-employed…that was three months ago.

What’s your top tip to anyone wanting to get into your industry?

Trying to get an apprenticeship is always good but I know some excellent makers who are self taught. Patience and practice are the only words I can offer as you will need both whilst mastering your craft.

6_o-1

What is the meaning of happiness?

Cake?

To remember to give more than you take

What is the one thing you couldn’t live without?

The internet! I mean what do people do without it?!

Dinner in a hurry – what would you cook?

Real hurry. . . cheese on toast with an egg mixed in.

Rush but should really eat something decent . . . Burritos! Black beans, buttery rice and any and all the fresh items left in the fridge thrown in. Oh and don’t forget the guacamole and cheese.

What’s your favourite travel destination?

Italy…..no france…..no Italy…..no france….

I cant pick. I love the food and culture in both countries

2_o

Check out more of Rory's work here