Meet Me: Sophia Brothers

Do you dream of sharing your love of good grub with the world but have no idea where to start? This week we meet Sophia Brothers, 29, founder of Nonna’s Gelato based in East London. You can find her delicious ice cream at Spitalfields Market, Broadway Market and several Kerb locations.

img_5645

What do you do for work?

I pretty much have the best job, I get to eat gelato for a living! I run a small gelato company in London called Nonna’s Gelato. Inspired by my Nonna (Italian for Grandma), I started the business 18 months ago, we make proper Italian gelato using only the best of local seasonal ingredients. We like to think of it as an Italian/British fusion, like us! Everything we put into our gelato is natural and we make everything from scratch. We trade at local markets during the warmer months from our very pretty tricycle and supply restaurants across the city all year round.

What did you want to be growing up?

I never really knew what I wanted to do, I always enjoyed art & photography and knew I’d always what to do something creative. I guess in a way I’m now creative with food instead!

How did you get to where you are now?

My degree and background has always been in photography and until very recently I worked with the photographic collections of the Science Museum. Eventually my love of gelato and ice cream got the better of me and eating tonnes of it turned into making tonnes of it. It all started with one of my best friends buying me a small, domestic ice cream machine around 5 years ago combined with wanting to create something from scratch, like my Nonna always has. One thing led to another and a year in I quit the day job to make this a full time venture, so far no regrets.

l1000925

What’s your top tip for anyone with a dream of starting their own street food business?

Street food is a wonderful industry to be in with a great sense of community, it’s heaps of fun and nothing beats seeing someone enjoy something you’ve made. However it is extremely hard work, with long hours, especially for us during the Summer it can be tiring. So I’d say a top tip would be to be prepared – make sure you’ve got a solid plan before you jump in, logistically & financially.

What is the meaning of happiness?

Sitting around a table with people you love, eating and drinking for hours on end.

What’s the one thing you couldn’t live without?

My family & friends, because without them none of this would be possible and I’d have no one to share delicious food with!

Dinner in a hurry – what would you cook?

Tagliatelle with my Nonna’s simple tomato sauce and shavings of parmesan on top.

Where is your top travel destination?

My favourite place ever which I’ve visited every year since I was born , Villefranche -sur-Mer in the South of France (where my Nonna lives and my Mum grew up). It’s idyllic and you get the best of both French & Italian cusine.

broadway_30th-july